French Open Champions To Pocket Record €2.2m

French Open. AFP

The singles champions at this year’s French Open will receive €2.2 million ($2.7 million), up €100,000 from 2017, tournament director Guy Forget announced on Tuesday.

The overall prize money will increase by around 10 percent, rising from 36 million euros last year to €39.2 million.

Forget added that money for qualifying and first-round losers would again increase, with €40,000 for players who fall in the opening round — €5,000 more than 2017.

Despite the changes, the French Open still offers less prize money than other Grand Slam tournaments, after the Australian Open in January also increased prize money 10 percent with the champions claiming a record four million Australian dollars (€2.5 million).

Wimbledon winners Roger Federer and Garbine Muguruza each took home £2.2 million (€2.51 million) last year, while US Open champions Rafael Nadal and Sloane Stephens won $3.7 million (€3 million) apiece.

The 2018 French Open will run from March 21 to June 10 at Roland Garros in Paris.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button