2019 AFCON: Date, Time, Fixtures, Match Venues, Where To Watch Live

AFCON 2019: Local Organising Committee Unveils Official Mascot ‘Tutankhamun’

Africa Cup of Nations 2019

The 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON), known as the Total 2019 Africa Cup of Nations, will be held from 21 June to 19 July 2019 in Egypt.

The biennial international men’s football championship of Africa is organized by the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

Concise News reports that the competition was moved from January/February to June/July for the first time and it will also be the first AFCON expanded from 16 to 24 teams.

The 32nd edition was initially scheduled to be hosted by Cameroon. The Central African country would have hosted the competition for the first time since 1972. They were also the title holders after winning the previous edition.

On 30 November 2018, Cameroon was stripped of hosting the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations due to delays in the delivery of infrastructure, the Boko Haram insurgency and the Anglophone Crisis.

On 8 January 2019, Egypt was chosen by the CAF Executive Committee as the host nation of the competition.

The tournament has also been moved from the original dates of 15 June – 13 July to 21 June – 19 July due to Ramadan.

Where to watch 2019 AFCON matches live? 

The matches will be broadcast live on Super Sports channels.

See complete day-by-day schedule for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt below. (all kick-off times GMT, two hours behind local time):


June 21

Group A: Egypt v Zimbabwe, Cairo International Stadium (20:00)

June 22

Gp A: Democratic Republic of Congo v Uganda, Cairo Stadium (14:30); Gp B: Nigeria v Burundi (17:00), Guinea v Madagascar (20:00), both Alexandria Stadium.

June 23

Gp D: Morocco v Namibia, Al Salam Stadium, Cairo (14:30); Gp C: Senegal v Tanzania (17:00), Kenya v Algeria (20:00), both June 30 Stadium, Cairo.

June 24

Gp D: South Africa v Ivory Coast, Al Salam Stadium (14:30); Gp E: Tunisia v Angola (17:00), Mauritania v Mali (20:00), both Suez Stadium.

June 25

Gp F: Cameroon v Guinea-Bissau (17:00), Ghana v Benin (20:00), both Ismailia Stadium.

June 26

Gp B: Nigeria v Guinea, Alexandria Stadium (14:30); Gp A: Uganda v Zimbabwe (17:00), Egypt v DR Congo (20:00), both Cairo Stadium.

June 27

Gp B: Madagascar v Burundi, Alexandria Stadium (14:30); Gp C: Algeria v Senegal (17:00), Kenya v Tanzania (20:00), both June 30 Stadium.

June 28

Gp E: Tunisia v Mali, Suez Stadium (14:30); Gp D: Morocco v Ivory Coast (17:00), Namibia v South Africa (20:00), both Al Salam Stadium.

June 29

Gp E: Mauritania v Angola, Suez Stadium (14:30); Gp F: Cameroon v Ghana (17:00), Benin v Guinea-Bissau (20:00), both Ismailia Stadium.

June 30

Gp B: Madagascar v Nigeria, Alexandria Stadium; Burundi v Guinea, Al Salam Stadium, both 1600. Gp A: Egypt v Uganda, Cairo Stadium; Zimbabwe v DR Congo, June 30 Stadium, both 1900.

July 1

Gp D: South Africa v Morocco, Al Salam Stadium; Namibia v Ivory Coast, June 30 Stadium, both 1600. Gp C: Kenya v Senegal, June 30 Stadium; Tanzania v Algeria, Al Salam Stadium, both 1900.

July 2

Gp F: Benin v Cameroon, Ismailia Stadium; Guinea-Bissau v Ghana, Suez Stadium, both 1600. Gp E: Mauritania v Tunisia, Suez Stadium; Angola v Mali, Ismailia Stadium, both 1900.


July 5

(41) Gp D winners v 3rd Gp B/E/F, Al Salam Stadium 1600; (38) Gp A runners-up v Gp C runners-up, Cairo Stadium 1900.

July 6

(42) Gp B runners-up v Gp F runners-up, Alexandria Stadium 1600; (39) Gp A winners v 3rd Gp C/D/E, Cairo Stadium 1900.

July 7

(37) Gp B winners v 3rd Gp A/C/D, Alexandria Stadium 1600; (40) Gp C winners v 3rd Gp A/B/F, June 30 Stadium 1900.

July 8

(43) Gp E winners v Gp D runners-up, Suez Stadium 1600; (44) Gp F winners v Gp E runners-up, Ismailia Stadium 1900.


July 10

(45) Winners match 38 v winners 41, June 30 Stadium 1600; (48) Winners 42 v winners 39, Cairo Stadium 1900.

July 11

(47) Winners 43 v winners 40, Suez Stadium 1600; (46) Winners 37 v winners 44, Al Salam Stadium 1900.


July 14

Winners 45 v winners 46, June 30 Stadium 1600; Winners 47 v winners 48, Cairo Stadium 1900.


July 17

Losing semi-finalists, Al Salam Stadium 1900.


July 19

Winning semi-finalists, Cairo Stadium 1900.

Have a story to tell, or images to share on interesting Nigeria news? Send them to Concise News via Whatsapp (0906 928 2577)

Olugbenga Ige is an alumnus of the prestigious Adekunle Ajasin University, Ondo State and The Polytechnic, Ibadan. Gbenga is an experienced reporter at Concise News, a new media enthusiast, and fine-grained media influencer.

Add Concise To Homescreen.